Fads….. Strawberry Quick and Cheese


Yesterday I was watching television and came across a new show called The Doctors, that I like and will be tuning in on from time to time. I was glued to my television for 60 minutes in pure astonishment and awe.

When I first heard the the show lead in, I thought wow what has Nestle (TM) done with their milk mix? Little did I know I was in for the a huge surprise.

I was totally engulfed with the reporting of the increasing drug usage fads, called Strawberry Quick/Cheese/Beer Butt Bongs/Vodka nose shots/Vodka soaked tampons or suppositories, that are used by some teens.

After the show I did so research about this, being a parent of a teen I wanted to know more. I found that these fads started gaining momentum around 2005 and found that some kids as early as 6 years of age have been using one or more of these types of fad drugs.

Salvia..the new grass

Wikipedia states…..

Salvia divinorum can be chewed, smoked, or taken as a tincture to produce experiences ranging from uncontrollable laughter to much more intense and profoundly altered states. The duration of effects is much shorter than that of other, more well-known psychedelics; the effects of smoked salvia typically last for only a few minutes. The most commonly reported after-effects include an increased feeling of insight, an improved mood, a sense of calmness, and an increased sense of connection with nature—though, much less often, it may also cause (unpleasant or uncomfortable mood).

Guess what the situation may be subject to future change but at present Salvia divinorum remains legal in most countries. Exceptions as of June 2008, countries where there is some form of control, include Australia, Belgium, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, Italy, Japan, Spain, and Sweden.

Strawberry Quick/Quik

Methanphedamine is cut with strawberry quick/quck from the Nestle (TM) powder mix used for flavoring milk . Different flavors can be used to minimize the acidic bit that one gets when getting high with meth. The drug, which also comes in cola, cherry and orange flavors are used.

An Associated Press story published in newspapers across the U.S. on May 1, 2007 focused on discoveries of what appeared to be a strawberry-flavored children’s drink at the scene of an illegal meth lab. It has come to be known as “Strawberry Quick.” It has no connection with the popular Nestle QUIK flavored milk products now renamed Nestle Nesquik.

You see meth has a bitter acidic taste and the makers of the drug use sweet products to take the edge off that acidic bitter taste and make it more appealing to first time users. Candy, lollipops, sweet flavored powdered products can even be used.

The article said that the “Strawberry Quick” angle came to light in January when the Nevada Department of Public Safety issued a warning about it.

The Strawberry meth has been reported in several states including Missouri, Washington State, Wisconsin, and Texas, Nevada, and California.

Although experts say it is not been made that way just for the purpose of introducing it to children, I would argue that because of the sweet taste and candy-like appearance there is great concern about it being more attractive to children and teens. Of course giving it a sweet taste and a harmless-sounding name is a marketing technique to ease it into the hands of any potential victim it can be attractive more so to a teen or young children.

My mouth was hanging open when this show was on yesterday, I was floored I couldn’t stop saying OMG!. Not to mention that has been going on for sometime but the fact that it has increased, told me that our children/teens are crying out for help. The state of our country, fast paced growing technology, the need to keep up, be the best, fastest and most advanced, loss of jobs, effect children and teens. They are acting out dangerously. Columbine and so many incidents like it come to mind here.

This increasing phenomenon struck me deeply knowing the things that some teens are doing to themselves to escape pain and hurt in one way or another.

Could it be peer pressure among themselves (as we all at some point or time have been subjected to)? Could it be curiosity? Could it be I want to be cool and be like my friends? Could it be I don’t want to be the odd one out? Could it be I just want to feel better, happy and free? Could it be I want attention from anyone anywhere? Could it be I have been bullied towards this?

I thought more as the show went on to expose other increased fad drugs that are being used by some teens.

Vodka Nose Shots/Vodka Tampons/Suppositories

This is where a shot of vodka (and I am sure it could be other alcoholic beverages also) is ingesting by nose a short sniff or snort instead of drinking it. Ouch I thought when I saw this 17 year old girl on the show demonstrate this on a home video she brought to the show. She got started on this when she went to abroad. She didn’t seem to be worried about it, she stated, “No I wasn’t worried about the dangers I was with my friends.” When she got back to the states her friends wanted to know how it was done, she showed them, and the cycle continued.

Tampons and suppositories have also been soaked with vodka to get high. Dangerous ground some teens are treading. Again my mouth was just hanging open from the shock of this. I was constantly asking myself why are these teens doing this to themselves? Please someone help them. As I continued watching the show more was availed to me.

Beer “Butt” Bongs

Well I’m not going into too much detail here about this one but let me say that the orifice where the end of the bong is placed is not beer friendly.

To add more insult to injury more drug fads were revealed.

Cheese

Wikipedia states…

Cheese, the new heroin, is a heroin-based recreational drug that came to the attention of the media inside and outside the United States after a string of deaths among adolescents in the Dallas/Fort Worth Metroplex, between 2005 and 2007.cheese is formed by combining heroin with crushed tablets of certain over-the-counter cold medication, such as Tylenol PM. Such cold medications contain acetaminophen, the active ingredient in Tylenol, and the antihistamine diphenhydramine, the active ingredient in Benadryl.
Users commonly take the powder by insufflation rather than by intravenous injection. Another less common term for this mixture is “Tylenol With Smack” by analogy to the Tylenol With Codeine series.

I was constantly asking, why? It seems that this was a way to get high quickly and more intense but mostly quickly. Rather than waiting for the substance to go through the body system. The show stated that the blood vessels that are present in the anal, nose, vaginal cavities were more abundant and was a more direct route to the bloodstream where instant euphoric results could be obtained.

Think about it the nose and sinus cavities are up against the frontal lobe of the brain. Tissue is enriched with blood vessels the substance has direct route to those blood vessels and the results are faster and more potent.


Does this leave you astonished, numb, or saying it’s just a sign of the times? Are you aware of this, shall we ignore this, or jump in anywhere no matter how small and be educated about this a talk about it with our teen openly,honestly no holds barred, and responsibly. I can bet you that the drug dealers are talking why can’t we? The teens of today are this country’s future they are needed in society to carry on and make better for us all.

Stay tuned for Par Two of this astonishing reveling story. I hope to be able to post some suggestions of what can be done. I am sure that if you think long and hard enough you will come up with a few yourself and will feel compelled to comment about them in Part Two of this small blog series of Fads….Strawberry Quick and Cheese.

8 Responses

  1. this is so crazy…and it is bound to ge worse….i am the mother of an 8month old…and i am going to have ALL the talks with her @ 5yrs b/c the children are being exposed to so much, so soon….its ridiculous! thx for the info, very clean n neat page my bf uses wordpress as well ttyl i think i might cite this page in my paper!!! PROPS!

    • Hi there,

      Thanks so much and I am glad that I was able to help out. This is why I wrote the post because I too was just floored. You are right as a parent I also thought that the more and sooner we know about these things as parents the more we can talk to our kids about this. Our world is a fast, multi-tasking, massive ball of information place. With such greatness, educating our kids on all facets will only foster a country in to continued greatness. Feel free to site what you like and if you want to email me your paper I would love to read it. Good Luck on your paper!

  2. […] Fads….. Strawberry Quick and Cheese […]

  3. Hiya! I just wish to give an enormous thumbs up for the nice info you have got here on this post.
    I might be coming back to your blog for extra soon.

  4. Howdy! I simply want to give a huge thumbs up for the great info youve gotten here on this post.
    I shall be coming back to your blog for extra
    soon.

Leave a Reply

